My Thoughts on Filipino Poetry

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Millennial tradition, that at least how I see it.

I'm really glad that more and more of young Filipinos are beginning to appreciate the beauty of poetry, write their heart's content and eventually speak it out loud on the stage. poem.png

However, as I go searching for outstanding performances on the internet, particularly youtube, I realize that there are particularly not right with it. Or something which artists unconsciously do, and getting the art a little dull and a bit saturated.

Don't get me wrong, their pieces are wonderful. Maybe it's just me, that I'm looking for something more.

And here are some of my observations.

1.) Poems are usually about 'ROMANCE'

I hate to say it, but majority of poets, talk nothing but about love, romance. Maybe most of them are currently experiencing the pain from their previous relationship, and they happened to turn it into poetry. I have nothing against it, because emotion is what really triggers the words to come out. My concern however is, is love or being in love the only thing that matters?

2.) Poems are usually about DRAMA

I'm not sure about you, but poetry should also be funny, and inspirational. If it's all about speaking how harsh the destiny was, don't you think it's kind of a little lame because it only shows that there's not much thing you can do about it?

When you have a breakup with your girlfriend or boyfriend, it's okay if you turn it into poetry, just don't overdo it, except if you don't want to move on.

You see, you can flip the other side of the coin and realize that there's still much in it.

But I'm glad that some of our poets have such superb piece that actually is inspirational, like this one. Props to Jedidiah Maigue.

3.) Less Distinct Delivery

Try to listen to these young marvelous poets and try notice the difference on how they deliver their poems.

First is miss Maimai Cantillano in her 'Sa Pagitan Ka Natagpuan'

Second, 'Oras'

Third, Jan William Chua in his ‘Yung Feeling Na Kayo Pero Parang Hindi’

Now, what have you noticed?

Like I said, there are so many (if not majority) of them are using this style of delivering their poems. I'm not exactly sure if they have to speak that way so people will reciprocate to the emotion, or maybe because they're on the stage, they have to make their voice clearer and louder. But to be honest, if not about the background music, you wouldn't understand where the emotions are coming from. Or maybe you hardly would, but not because of the words, but to the fact that they really are trying hard to convey their message through gestures and uniformed tone of delivery. Like what Mr. Juan Miguel Severo is doing in his every performances like 'Ang Huling Tula na Isusulat Ko para sa 'Yo'

I really hope that our poets should learn how to deliver their poems in their own unique style. With their brand, like how Mr. John Arcilla deliver this particular poem called 'Pakialam'.

4.) It Almost are Like Short Stories Instead of a Poetry

Unlike to classic poems that usually are rich in figurative and somewhat metaphorical words, I'm not quite sure why people has to make it like a story. They can actually save it when hanging out with friends in the coffee shop.

If you've heard about the poem called 'Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night' , you will understand my point. That poem has survived many decades considering that it only has more than a hundred of words. Somebody even turn into a song. The idea is to get the listener or reader more engaged by deciphering the words you are really trying to say. Afterall, that's how art should be, right?

But you know what? Despite all of these;

5.) Some are Actually Creative

And here's what I mean by that. Watch it 'til the end.

While watching this video, I really thought that maybe, it was just another poem. To my surprise, this really is a special one especially when he reversed the verses. It's my first time to hear a poem like this and it has me goose bumps.

SUMMING IT ALL UP

Through time, we can no longer deny that poetry have changed (a lot). It evolves in a way that might be acceptable to current generation. What's wrong about it? You may ask. Well, there's really nothing wrong with how poems are delivered, I just think that it's rather juvenile, they can be better than that. Understand that, formulaic is boring.

I admit, I'm not a poetic person, I don't have a world class piece of poem. But to a writer's perspective, I still prefer the old way as they are based on a strong sense of reality; may it be sorrowful or delightful one.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jazzw! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You actually have veryyy nice posts!!! You're definitely worth to follow kabayan @jazzw

Thank you @smaeunabs.. :)

You're welcome :) just make it a habit to post from time to time, and don't forget to tag philippines. That way, more Filipinos will be able to recognize you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62593.28
ETH 3105.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86