"False Reflection Pt. 1" - My Original and First Poem Ever SharingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

"False Reflection Pt. 1" - My Original

A Prince destined for the crown,
though he'll never see
His people's astonishment though always known,
a great leader he would be

A single night before that very day,
when the change of rule took place
A Prince pondered a father's shoes he'd fill,
a Prince began to pace

Slight glimmer catching teary eyes,
impossible not to look
Blinded by a mind's false reflection,
in the crown he never took

Not born to lead 'twas self-decieved,
a blade turned bright rose red
Replacing the grandest ceremony,
an unexpected mourning was had instead

Without their predestined King,
the one to be savior of all
A forgotten people brought to their knees,
a false reflection, a kingdom would fall

-- Jax Stone

BACKGROUND/ABOUT ME: Hi, I'm Jax Stone! I enjoy poetry, music writing, and writing in general. To be honest, even though I think of poems and the like in my head quite frequently, I've only written down a handflul. I've especially never thought them important or interesting enough to share.

I've decided to share one of the only poems I've put to paper, after a friend found a journal of mine and decided to pry and pry, until I agreed to post it 😒 they told me it helped them get through their own struggles, however big or small those struggles might have been.

This specific poem has my own personal interpretation, related in part to depression and the way we percieve ourselves. I think at times we all, especially those battling depression, view ourselves through a negative lense, for a multitude of reasons. Even if reality and the world tell and show us otherwise, it can be difficult to escape this self-conscious, sometimes destructive, feedback loop within our own mind.
I could go on and on, but long-story short, I realized that if my friend thought this poem was worth sharing, maybe others might.

I have a brand new website/blog, which I'll link at the bottom of the page. If there's interest, I'll continue sharing there, along with here on Steemit. Please be aware that my website contains NSFW sexual content, as I have many interests I usually share and they are often faaaaar different from poetry. My profile pic may give a bit of insight 😅. Do not visit my website if you find NSFW (especially sexual content) off-putting in any way.

POEM LINK: "False Reflection Pt. 1 - Jax Stone Original

WEBSITE LINK: "Jax Stone's Blog & Website

Sort:  

Hugs for that which you have cared enough to share with us.
I felt a high sense of anxiety from the prince which relies much on hope.
Thanks For the advice too, thanks.

Hugs right back to you! I really appreciate the kind words and taking your time to read it. Thank you!

Beautiful writeup; you're doing exceptionally great.... Much love

Thank you so so much! For someone that has always thought of poetry as an afterthought, I can't tell you how appreciative I am that this has received well by even one person ☺

You're most welcomed..... Keep up the good work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30