Blackout Poetry - THIN ICE

in #poetry7 years ago

blackout.jpg

BLACKOUT POETRY is a form of word art where the poet uses an already established text and creates a new work by blacking out words till a poem is formed. Generally the subject of the original work has no connection to the subject of the poem.



Imagine upon the days of November
to form luck on ice in the winter.
From that ice strong enough soon
approached with difficulty I restrain.
From port to long and demanding present
the first too early for this.
Not yet argued, this made sense,
the cold ponds already had ice.



ORIGINAL BLACKED OUT TEXT
november.jpg



My earlier blackout poem - CHARITY



JAPH2.gif

Sort:  

Have not done one yet, but I really Love this concept and do have a stack of books to go through. It is so cool, I hope to see many others posting more of these :)

I love this.
I love learning from you.
I love my steemit teachers.
I will do this today, it is very powerful.

A little while ago I was watching mindless day time tv. I wrote disjointed pieces of the uninspired dialog to get started on a poem, it turned out quite well... it think, I don't remember which one it was.

I'm glad you are gonna give this a whack. I think it is a highly underrated form of creativity. Big plus - some amazing work can come out of it! I like your idea of borrowing dialogue from television and forming it into a piece. I have never thought of that and I am always up for inspiration! Thanks for that tip!

I had a go today. Will definitely try another day when I can get 5 minutes to myself!!!
https://steemit.com/art/@girlbeforemirror/black-out-poetry-loving-you-original-poem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62581.77
ETH 2546.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75