Man's Best FriendsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

dog.jpg

You've waited for to come home from work for over 20 years now.
Each time I walk through the door, you there to take a bow.

Although I never had a child or even a wife,
I am blessed to have your paws as part of my life.

No matter what the weather forecast say for today,
You always seem to let me have things my way.

I supposed I rescued you from that fire just out of luck.
That day we got flooded by the river, my dog rescued a duck!

You doggy smile is just the thing I needed when I lost my job.
Sometimes when you bark at me, I could swear you call me by name; "Bob!"

The day they pound had been forced to put you to sleep,
I prayed and decided that even after death, you were mine to keep.

Although you are technically dead,
I will always love you forever, "Fred".

Sort:  

As someone who lost his dog (in profile pic) last year I fully relate.. great post.

Love it - "blessed to have your paws as part of my life." :)

I love pets. This looks cute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75