Thoughts From A People-Watcher

in #poetry7 years ago

Thoughts From A People-Watcher

People think I don’t see
What is going on
In society.

People think I’m too young
Too inexperienced
Too sheltered
And in general, too oblivious
To see the obvious
Downhill slide.

However, I see enough to know
That this planet
And everyone on it
Is indeed on the decline.

I see it in the way we treat each other.

I see it in people who care only about themselves,
And no one else.

I see selfishness, greed, atrocity, and lust for power.

Granted, none of this is new;
This has been reality for some time now.
However, the sins of mankind
Inevitably lead to destruction.
Is it any surprise?

People don’t know
That I have known what is going on
For many years now.
There is no hiding it.
I see it all.
And anything I don’t yet see
Is easily inferred.

And I’m making plans for escape.

Immediately.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jackieb1992! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75