The Land of A Thousand Dreams

in #poetry7 years ago

For all interested, this poem is based upon the groggy thoughts I have when I awake from a long sleep in the land of a thousand dreams. Because these thoughts are so sleepy and groggy (I'll admit...I need some coffee!), the poem itself doesn't exactly follow a set pattern. Anyhow, enjoy!

I close my eyes and enter
Into a world of my own design.
There, I find
Places fantastic and untouched.

I've dreamed of cities never seen
And waterfalls as yet undiscovered,
I've been to the tops of tall skyscrapers,
and found books yet to be written.

They say that dreams may be parallel worlds...
My, what a fascinating thought!
Could this be real in another universe?
Is the universe in question actually my own mind?

Still more dreams come back to my mind
During the times when I'm awake.
They haunt me continually,
And leave a residue throughout the day.

Sometimes weeks, months, and years later as well.

Perhaps these are clues that another reality does exist?
Maybe it works something like this...
Every human mind is a universe unto it's own,
And all exist within our own universe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57864.53
ETH 2454.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34