I Hide Myself Behind Trees

in #poetry6 years ago

I Hide Myself Behind Trees

Millay.jpg

Image Source

Until the rain from my eyes has ceased,

And hold them deeply closed,
So that no-one can see your image.

My arms enveloped you
Like delicate tendrils.

I grew to be one with you.
Why are you tearing me away?

I gave you the flower
Of my body,

All my butterflies
I shooed into your garden.

I kept walking through grenades,
Saw the world burn

All over with love
Through your blood.

But now I strike the temple walls
Dull with my forehead.

Oh you false juggler,
The rope you strung up was loose.

Words addressed to me feel cold,
My heart lies bare,

This red vessel of mine
Is pulsing horribly.

I’m always at sea,
Never to set foot on land again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94