Farewell to the poet" Written upon the death of the great Leonard CohensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

The poet closed his book tonight, for him there was no choice
The words that held such comfort and that gifted golden voice
have left the way they entered, no winged entourage
Just the man, his gift, his truth and his talent fully charged.

The author wrote his final line, the words that held our sway
dripped off the page and vanished, on this broken battered day
His muse went on ahead, he bade farewell just months before
One gets the feeling that, for him, she left an open door

The singer sang his last today, he moved me when he spoke
The timbre of those vocals full of whiskey, aged and smoked
The songs are epitaphs of love, of passion and of sex
each line would leave us wondering, joyous and perplexed

The inspiration left me when I heard the news today
The talent that sustained me on those cold and lonely days
has finally faded from my view fell silent to my ears
it leaves behind a crooked smile behind the selfish tears

Genius fell quiet today, and the world’s a sadder place
and singers 'round the world all know no-one will take his place
You’re the friend I never met although we always got along
So thank you for the memories, the music, and the songs
©Keith Hancock 2016

Leonard_Cohen_2190.jpg

Sort:  

Farewell to Leonard Cohen, a genius with a truly magical voice.

Indeed, he was my hero all my life. I genuinely felt like I had lost a close relative. Thanks for commenting

Inseasia,
Simply beautiful... All I can say is, his work lives on, continuing to touch us all.

#leonardcohen

Thank you, your words are appreciated, @nadineo.

@inseasia thank you appeal to @sportic. Your post will see more than 5K of my followers

Words of great magnificence and creativity

He was a genius, I loved his work all my life. Thanks for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65