What a dream it would have been

in #poetry6 years ago

Set a perfect stage
For chaos to uncage.

The time is here!
The time is now!

Now, go on your way.

If only
The "if only"s
Sounded more like
Recollections.
Like memories of past.

In time
We may realize
What's next.

At last.

This piece forced in my creative recesses after attending Bassnectar's Get Interactive concert in San Francisco last weekend. It was the first time I attended one of his shows. The experience was expertly curated. I have never seen or heard anything like what occurred that night before. Naturally, nothing will be like it ever again. Lorin was pushing the crowd to act. IMMEDIATELY.
Something in me wanted to something that very night. Something needed to change. It still does.
But, that evening, our options were limited. The crowd was let out into a park outside of the venue. People flooded a nearby playground. We relived our elementary-school days at recess--waiting our turn for the slide and climbing every structure we could.
The police came to push us out. I so urgently wanted to resist.

Hadn't we all just shared the same experience?
Why would we listen to these cops, these pig slaves of the capitalist-oppressor state?

My resistance would have been innocent chaos.
I wanted to scream out, "NO! Whatever you do, don't stop playing!"

But, my knees are weak, and I wasn't ready to get arrested.
I realized that I need to build myself strong, if I am to effectively resist.
And I'm not just talking about cops kicking me off of a playground.

Here's an old line of mine to wrap this up:
It is time to grow yourself strong.
The brain contemplates,
But the heart is never wrong.

Sort:  

Congratulations @imadgenation! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imadgenation! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62