THE DANCE

in #poetry6 years ago

PhotoGrid_1520865240056.png
Hey, it's barely six months since you left
That's approximately 180 days
And my life has moved a hundred and eighty degrees
A drastic turn, not around but upside

After you left, my life became miserable,
It felt as though you were dead
"You don't know the value of a thing until you lose it"
I never knew the saying was applicable to living things.

I became lonely, depressed and I'd cry myself to sleep.
I lost so much weight and Jude our neighbor noticed
He went out of his way to make me eat.
His intentions were pure or so I thought

His kindness stole my heart, I began to have funny thoughts
He made me laugh at how I used to cry,
We watched late night movies in my apartment.
I wanted to tell you but myself told me it was nothing.

"Na from clap e dey enter dance"
And next thing we were dancing without clothes
I knew it wasn't right, but my feelings persuaded my will
It was bittersweet, sweet because it was my first and bitter because it wasn't with you.

Well the dance got me pregnant,
Shame told me not to tell anyone about it
All I could do was do away with it,
And it took my womb on its way out

I'm sorry I broke our love bank, I'm sorry for banking with InFidelity
I know we agreed to save "the dance" for our wedding night
But I guess there will be no wedding
I guess this is where we say goodbye.

#The_Dance
#Whyte_Writes

Sort:  

Hmmm. Keep it coming. You got something to share with the world

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68779.72
ETH 3920.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64