Selfish Agendas

in #poetry6 years ago


images (1).png

The only thing I lost was my calling
When I turned to look for myself

The divine has little patience for thinkers
He prefers soldiers who obey orders

The last time I tried to ask for help
I was told I needed a convincing story

So I went down on both knees
And concocted a story for the gods

At the end, it doesn't matter
Neither do I really care

For the divine never answers prayers
Unless they fulfil his selfish agendas

Image source: Pixabay

Sort:  

Nice poem. Is this inspired by events in your life? I find that the more poetry I write myself the more I like to know how other poets gain insperation for their work.

Smiles

Yes, it is.

I'm kinda inclined towards atheism; I was just expressing some thoughts on religion

Poetry is a great way to express thoughts. Keep on writing.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81