Poem: Ambivalence

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

AMBIVALENCE

If only you could
step inside my heart
for just a moment or two
you might be overwhelmed
by what I feel for you

Love, pure and simple love
that has no end
and longs to hold you near
for now and forever,
for as long as we’re both here

But this monster that rears it's ugly head
You make your entrance,
I can sense it
I can feel it
Please all I want is just to have it dead

I will protect you
I will keep you safe,
Find refuge within me
Let go of this monster
So we can be as happy as can be

It kills me
It crushes me
My love for you has the power,
To eliminate this monster
Every minute of every hour

Never leave nor forsake you
These words I have written in my heart,
Until my dying end
I will never depart

Deep in my heart I know
I could never be as happy
like I am with you now,
Absolute bliss is what I experience
Oh how I cannot wait to take that vow

But alas for now I must go,
Do you hear that familiar sound
The monster, my thief of joy
Calls me to battle
Another fight, another victory when I destroy

Sort:  

This is a beautiful poem from the heart.
Thanks for sharing @iamnotageek

You are most welcome. Glad you liked it. :-)

Each of these stanzas felt so smooth and effortless. Job well done! Following you now.

I just did a post about poetry myself if you're interested!

Wow, thank you so much! My first poem ever! From the heart.

I'm heading over to you now! & Following!

@iamnotageek
Good content
Keep sharing good posts!

Wow, those words mean so much to me.

Thank You

nice one :D urnotageek

Thank you my Discord friend <3

You should read this poem tonight on Discord!!!!

hahahahaha Wouldn't that be a blast.

Wow, that is beautiful. It sounds like wedding vows, what was your inspiration?

Happened to me in real life.

You are a fighter and an awesome writer at that!

bows down

Thank you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55