Poem of the day[Day 5]-Freeform

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

poems.jpeg
Image by Medium

Hey everyone, it's the fifth day of my Poem of the day challenge where I challenge myself to write a poem every day...We'll see for how long I can keep this going. Also, you can submit your own poems by sharing the steemit link of your blog entry in the comments below or by mailing the poem to [email protected].

No intro today, here we go...

Looking Through My Window

I see a lonely leaf defying vigorous wind
Wrinkles on it's surface have been firmly imprinted on my retinas
The last one remaining after a furious storm
Because their lack of devotion got rid of the others

Fight,
You green soldier
Fight, like the ones with whom i played as a child
Be confident like David when the odds were against him
Stay determined

As my thoughts were flailing around
The last leaf, the lone green soldier
Challenged by his opponents' last efforts
Lost his battle
Taken away from its home
Left in the dirt to rot

The tree was completely bare
Stripped of his pride and dignity
Branches were sad.
Bent.

My eyes switched their focus and
The wind kept blowing.
The time kept moving.
The world kept going.

I hope you enjoyed that one :D

Shameless plug:
There's a new cryptocurrency airdrop going on, click here to join.

Sort:  

Nice Poem, It reminds me a little of Shel Silverstein. Look forward to the next poem.

Thank you soo much, i really appreciate it...

This post received a free Upvote. Get your free Upvote NOW! Just follow @upvoteforfree

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15