Summer Flowers: poem and picturessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Flowers in the springtime
are something I adore
but flowers in the summer
just count for something more

Don’t get me wrong, I love the spring
when birds fly north, they all take to wing
But I know I love the summer
No flowers, that would be a bummer

this poem came last night
as I lay down in bed
I worried I would forget
come morn, naught in my head

Ignore my terrible rhyme scheme
It came to me, as if in a dream
I could say “sorry” for what I lack
But I’d rather work, not be set back

By this point I conclude, I’m no poet
I think by now, you’ve all come to know it realize

And Now For The Pictures

Exhibit A:Trumpet Creeper

20180727_174223.jpg
20180727_174239.jpg

First photo selected because of the better quality and because I managed to catch the bug in the middle - that took a few tries! It kept moving around and flying from flower to flower, and I kept snapping rushed, low quality shots. As a matter of fact, the second photo was one of those - I just posted it because it shows a nice side view of the flower. I didn't know what the flowers were called before taking the photo and looking it up - did you?

Exhibit B: Pink and blue Hydrangeas

20180727_174031.jpg
20180731_200701.jpg

Honestly, I'm not that happy with the quality of either of these photos, although I think the blue one is slightly worse. I was going to snap another shot, but just then my phone(w/ its camera) died, and I was stuck. What I find most fascinating is that the owners of these 2 Hydrangea bushes live a few blocks away, but because they're part of completely different communities I doubt they've conversed more than a friendly "Good Afternoon." I've exchanged a friendly "Good Afternoon" with both, though fortunately not while snapping pictures of their bushes - that would have been awkward. I'll try to get a better quality shot of the blue Hydrangeas and post it next time.

Exhibit C: Daisies

20180730_153652.jpg

I rather liked this photo, with the fresh daisy in the foreground, and the wilting one in the background. This flower was the only one whose name I knew without needing to look it up. Fortunately. Unfortunately, while going to take this photo, I knocked over a nice vase and broke it... Oops. Fortunately, this, out of all the photos I took, was taken in my own yard, so the owner was forgiving.

Random words under post: The poem and photos are my own. Pictures taken on a Samsung Galaxy. If this is popular, I'll post a few more (more blackmail to comment and upvote).

Sort:  

Thanks - I did actually think of it while lying in bed last night - I was tempted to get up and type it up, but I wanted to actually fall asleep.
Fortunately, I still remembered it come morning and was able to type it up - with a few revisions and improvements, of course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70572.77
ETH 3817.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53