Reflection

in #poetry6 years ago

Reflection




A loud cry echoed in the silence of night
Disturbed with the sound of a sorrowful plight
The darkness I braved and started searching
Following the sound to see where it’s coming
Oblivious of the danger it might bring
My feet couldn't stop walking
Dug-dug, dug-dug, my heart beats loud
As I go nearer the source of sound
I lift my feet and stepped slowly
To my horror the floor creaked loudly
All of a sudden the weeping stopped
And it felt like my heart dropped




I did not move, afraid to make noise again
I stood still with the deafening sound of silence
the wind became stronger in anger
Slapping my face with the air that got colder
Unsure why I can't move a muscle
No matter how hard I wrestle
In sheer desperation I tried to shout
But no sound was coming out of my mouth
A cold and shaking hand touched my lips
From behind, arms wrapped my body
It is as cold as ice, that I started to shiver
I pleaded for it to let go while I cry a river




I closed my eyes and started to pray
My soul surenderred and all pain I lay
When finally the viscious wind stopped
I felt relieved and my body dropped
I opened my eyes and I saw a face
A face that has fought a painful race
There are wounds - deep cuts on her skin
And blood is still flowing from within
"What have you done," I asked softly
Then she looked at me with eyes teary
I went near her with torch on hand
Taken aback and can't seem to understand




"This is just an imagination," I said painfully
I glance back and looked curiously
I walked closely towards her
Crying as I stare and wonder
With tears my vision got blurred
I can't believe she is the cry I heard
"What have I done," I asked in horror
As I stand in front of a mirror.


Image source 1& 2




Sort:  

My heart stumps. From the poem itself plus the factor of photos this is great! Goosebumps and waiting for the next words while reading. <3

Waaaaah super thanks! :)

A very haunting psychological horror write, beauty. Loved the ending and the sense of doubt it instilled in this reader. Do you ever really know yourself? The presentation was great too. New to the platform, here. Just a day old. I hoping to build some community. I invite you to my blog. If you like what you read, maybe we can support each other. Hope to see your there:) Pryde

Hi @prydefoltz. It is heart warming to know that you appreciated my work. See you around. :)

Very nice piece, it has an E.A. Poe feel to it, though different in approach, the feel is still there... Now I'm craving for more of these, feed me more!!

Thanks!!!! Though I am not an expert on poem lol. Appreciate the message especially coming from you.

I lol'd at the "especially coming from you" part, I'm just a mere poetry loving entity, nothing more nothing less...

Awesome poem. This is haunting in so many ways. I like it that writing becomes a wonderful outlet to express emotions, no matter the color. This read is sad and liberating at the same time. Kudos to you.

Thanks @jazzhero fo appreciating my work. Though I have no idea with poems. Haha. Thanks

Fascinating and eerie!
You were featured on the #25 edition of steemitfamilyph's featured posts. Congratulations!
https://steemit.com/steemitfamilyph/@steemitfamilyph/daily-steemit-family-ph-featured-posts-25

Wow. I am so happy ohana :) thank you

Upvoted by @steemian-sniper
Congratulations, you receive your second upvote for the week,
The Shoot Me Please project is a project running on the system of @steemian-sniper bot account.
This project will upvote every members in his hit list.
Fair distribution of the vote weight was been implemented
Want to register to this project ? Click here
DISCLAIMER: I was a robot who was programmed to target my followers, the creator does not share ANY opinions and thoughts explained by the author
Chao !

Beautiful and haunting

Yehey! Thank you :)

really touched my heart, and reminds me of how lucky I feel myself right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68887.40
ETH 3743.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67