Memories | A Poem

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

These days
Nothing of my former self survives

In the swelling bank books
I am dwarfed
A skeleton creeps into my conscience
deposited in the security lockers

These days
I have turned myself into a calculator
I have folded the sea of affections
into the bowl of the self

These days
I seek the mercies of the bank manager
more than the grace of God
I wear a mask
as i pass through the crowd of relationships

These days
I have mastered the art of catching butterflies
with silver Gloves
and climb up the stairs of success
with the help of the ladder
of my beloved's body

Now I am part of those gatherings also
where mother and daughter
nearly the same size and shape
wearing those silver Gloves
Sleep with the same client together
they know not each other
What they know is only the head and the tail

With all the bustle around
I feel lonely in the crowd
when memories of my village
lash on me

Then I desperately long for a run
knowing the truth that the return is not possible
I feed my palate with new tastes
and I have become slave all these flavours

These days
nothing of former survives

Link to our Dicord channel https://discord.gg/Ad5F8S

Sort:  

Great poem, @honeychum! Your words are enigmatic! I am still trying to decipher every line of your poem.

Thanks @evlachsblog It is an expression of a man who came to the city, away from his roots and finds himself in the clutches of the rat race. I appreciate your comment. :)

Thank you for explaining. Yay! My interpretation was close. Someone moves into the city for greener pasture and becomes too homesick, however, can't go back to where he came from. He's too busy at earning money to satisfy his material needs.

A very beautiful and poignant poem, @honeychum .
I love these lines -
"These days
Nothing of my former self survives
These days
I seek the mercies of the bank manager
more than the grace of God" ....

You are a very soulful writer, @honeychum :)

Thank you :)

These days
I seek the mercies of the bank manager
more than the grace of God
I wear a mask
as i pass through the crowd of relationships

Brilliant stanza - perfectly captures some of most intense anxieties of our age, while also being incredibly personal. There's so many great images in this piece I could go on for hours gushing over them all! Very nice write, I'm glad I found your blog :)

Thanks a lot @lazarus-wist When someone talks about your work then it makes one really happy. I am thankful to you for giving me such a beautiful feedback. You people inspire me. I am grateful to u all.

Wow I'm in love with your poems, transports me to a magical place, you have an excellent talent

Ohhh, thanks @adrianav I am very happy to know that my poem leads you towards your magical world. This is very motivating. Thanks for your beautiful and inspiring comment. :)

Thanks my friend :)

Wow. Great work, I really like it....read it over 3 times now

Thanks a lot buddy. I am glad that u have liked it. :)

This is a great poem. Difficult in it's simplicity. Describes the struggle so well. Beautifully crafted. :D

Thanks a lot buddy :)

You're welcome. :)

Your poem made me sad yet made me clap my hands and says "Bravo"
Well-written @honeychum

Thanks @ryl I am glad that you liked my work. :)

Hey @honeychum, Congratulations !!! We just upvoted your post with 40.00% power. Keep up the good work. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62382.95
ETH 2427.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58