Passing Faces (an original poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

Fotoram.io(20).jpg
Image from Pixabay, modified in fotoram.io

Passing Faces

Some four decades ago, while passing in my uncle’s car,
I stared at poverty straight in the face.
It looked like a little girl,
wearing a ragged dress,
hardened by unwashed layers of dirt and grease.

Her briar hair nested lice
and the stench of hopelessness.
It refused to be moved by the wind
in a brave attempt at resistance.

Her eyes, wide and lost,
hosted thousands of passing faces and untold stories
of hungry nights heated by the yells of destitute abusers.
They could still cry, and did quite often,
but they were now showing the hardness of resolution,
of cynicism before suffering.

Her nose was rough and stout
It showed rows of snot and mud
with the dignity of the great kiskadee

Her mouth was big and shy.
It hid rotten teeth and an unruly tongue.
It also hid the unsavory taste of chained illusions.

Her feet were naked and intrepid.
They knew about pain but they had grown
the shelly skin to dress them for wild rendezvous.

She stared at me from her ramshackle fortress.
I was just passing,
trapped in the comfort of the air-conditioned Wagoneer.
My uncle did not stop for fruits or greens,
but I manage to drag that girl with me all these years.

Today I was looked at by a kid,
passing by in an outrageously expensive SUV.
Today I knew what that little girl felt some four decades ago.
Today I knew what went through her mind.
And I wonder if that little boy will think of me
for decades to come until he finds the words or the feelings.

Fotoram.io(21).jpg
Image from Wikimedia Commons, modified in fotoram.io

Thanks for your visit

Logo Equipo Cardumen-reducido.png

Visit at at: www.equipocardumen.com.ve

Sort:  

Not having the talent to write high poetry,

Is this what you wrote on your recent post?
After you wrote this?
In your second language?

This is superb.

Thank you so much.
I appreciate your comment. Very flattering.

Thank you so much. I
Appreciate your comment.
Very flattering.

                 - hlezama


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Cool. Did not intend it to be one!
Thanks

I did not seek to flatter you professor, sir.
You are no meek individual who requires the likes of me to flatter your writing. You are a gracious man, but you know your worth. There is a boldness in you, not an arrogance but a bolds, as you write as you take to the streets. That courageousness is inspiring and contagious don't suppress it's awesomeness with unnecessary curtsey.
You are awesome.

"Fuck yes I am, woman hiding behind girlish reflection in a mirror, thanks for noticing!"

Hahaha! Fuck yes!
Thanks, though, for reminding me of it. This is not false modesty; it's the result of unrelenting worth-beating and defeat.

Hola hlezama,

Tu post ha sido seleccionado por el bot de @provenezuela, te hemos dado un voto en apoyo a los autores venezolanos!

Gracias por ser parte de nuestra comunidad!

Gracias, @provenezuela. Agradecido por el apoyo.

I liked your poem, @hlezama. Loaded with harsh images, it gives an account, with great expressive and reflexive force, of that condition to which we are all exposed -more now, in our country- of being the object of the compassionate or indifferent gaze. I hope we are not just "passing faces". Greetings.

Thanks, @josemalavem. I too hope so, but I think it has become inevitable that we become passing faces in this constant phase-passing we have been experincing. It's been like a descend to hell where levels of outrageousness become so ubiquitous they are not outrageous any more.
When we can pass by a person eating trash and see it as a new normal that does not affect our stomachs anymore, we have descended to the bottom.

Hi @hlezama!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.573 which ranks you at #15895 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 221 places in the last three days (old rank 16116).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 399 contributions, your post is ranked at #219.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58