My conscience dies little by littlesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

IMG_20151206_134741.jpg
Our child goes to best schools
Gets to eat more than they need
When I see children loitering on the streets
Collecting garbage and sleeping in the open
Little girls working as a maid
Exploited both physically and mentally
My heart is in trouble for a moment
But the next second the thought came to me
It is not my duty to look after them
My conscience dies a little

The mentally sick women stay by the road
Day and night, cold and rain without a shed
I always pass her while driving to work; as everybody does
Sometimes I gave her fruits to eat
Only to convince my inner voice
But inside I know that my conscience died a little

The man is handicapped with illness and age
He literally crawls himself to beg
My heart cries for him
I wanted to do something for him
But I couldn't or I didn't
Because I thought there are so many people in the world; why me?
From that moment my conscience died a little more.

Daily cases of atrocities, molestation, and rapes in the news
I wanted to raise my voice, to do something for their safety
But it gets lost in the daily chores
I try to convince my heart and mind
There are administration and government to look after it
But I know that; again my conscience died a little.

Sort:  

As somebody (I forget who) said, “all it takes for evil to succeed is for good people to do nothing”.

Well said and how true this is!!

Your message was nicely passed.. Our conscience dies anytime we fail to do good.. We are mostly selfish and blind to the needs of people around us.. Check this out https://steemit.com/poetry/@chicsman/shadow-of-me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68373.55
ETH 2650.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71