Poem / “War Time”steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Poem / “War Time”

giphy (2).gif

Beat:

⸶⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸙⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰

He died a man of great honor,
Amid his foes he held life close,
Kissing his mother for the last time in sorrow,
she wept tears, eyes cold,
Because she knew her son, wouldn’t be back tomorrow.

Dead bones scatter amongst this battlefield,
I realized this reality I see, is a reflection of me,
Dead or forgotten, this diary I kept close,
Hoping these bullets that scattered,
Could cast votes.

Damnit, I hate war,
Wiping my tears the General yells for me,
And he’s got the key
To let this soldier's heart-free,

The gun I hold runs for cover,
As the bullets fly, the chamber sounds for my brothers,
A great-light shines from above,
Tells me to fire, gives light to my cuts ,
I get up then shoot, until i’m forced to reload,
Who knows how many I shall kill,
Before my soul shall go.

I return home a hero, a medal on my left,
The Souls are following close, yelling with steps,
Driving me crazy, everywhere that I go,
Following me to markets, shooting bullets to soul,
Killing me gentle, I am filled with regret,
I kiss my mother on the cheek, I love her to death,
I sit down in my room, load up the gun, sit gloom,
The souls still talk, so I jump from my bed,
They scream “Thank you for your service”
that's when my eyes went red.

He died a man of great honor,
Amid his foes he held life close,
Kissing his mother for the last time in sorrow,
As she wept tears, her eyes were cold,
because her son she wrote.
wouldn’t be back tomorrow.

By: Ben (HelpingOthers)
6/26/2017 (Last poem for today :) )

⸶⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸙⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰giphy (3).gif

Wrote this for the creative compo competition and to show what soldiers have to go through on the battlefield and At home, if you could comment, upvote and follow my work, I promise to always release the best of the best for you :)!!!

Also, I was thinking of starting a poetry group called “Poeta”, in the group we basically
Comment, upvote and sometimes resteem each other's poems/writings to show support, comment Join If you’d like to be apart :).

Sort:  

Awesome creation you have here.

Thanks !!! been trying to improve my poetry game :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68905.09
ETH 3808.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48