BETTER FRIENDS

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I want friends
who aren't complacent.
Make me brave,
make me face it.

Not those
who give in
to distractions ample,
but those
who are an
inspiring example.

I want to do
better;
do you do too?
Are you trying to
find
what's really true?

Raise the frequency,
use your voice;
guide me towards
a resonant choice.

Reaching a hand
and lifting me up,
not weighing me down
and draining my cup.

Be my teacher,
counselor,
my comic relief;
sharing your thoughts,
fire,
dreams
and grief.

Let's be silly
and serious,
frilly and furious.
Wandering,
wondering,
and staying curious.

Amplify
our commonalities,
celebrate the
eccentricities.
Remind us
our authenticities,
and honor
unique qualities.

Mutually proud
to know one another;
secure in ourselves
because of the other.

Healthy and strong
when I am not,
sit with me
when
I'm feeling fraught.

Keeping it real
with active hope,
thirsty for wisdom,
expanding the scope.

Crafted conviction,
yet humble receivers;
exposing the lies
of the many deceivers.

Growing
slow and steady
like an oak --
persistent,
methodical
these are my folk.

Regenerating,
restoring,
healing our world,
with courage
and love,
the dream unfurled.

These are people
I want in my corner.
Communities
of beauties,
a fellow adorner.

A tribe of big hearts
that see the connections
is with whom I wish
to share my affections.

IMG_20180611_152735.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43