I See

in #poetry8 years ago

I see a face, a lonely face, the eyes have no feeling.
They know what I know, they see what I see, my mind they are stealing.
Their colour is cold, colder than ice,
They cut through my flesh like hot butter and knife,
They stare without motion, they threaten my life.
Those cold, lonely, threatening, all knowing eyes.

I see a soul, a desperate soul, fed up of the lying.
It tries to reach out, it tries to make sense, for solace it’s crying.
Its texture is sad, sadder than snow
As it melts in the sun when its glory lets go,
It’s freed from the body with no one to know,
That sad, searching, desperate, lost lonely soul.

I see a heart, a broken heart, with feelings of crushing,
It longs for its mate, it registers loss, the life force is gushing.
The beat is now slow, winding on down,
The reason for working is nowhere around,
It feels like it’s sinking deep under the ground,
That lost, sinking, desolate, poor broken heart.

I see a glass, an honest glass, which tells all it’s spying,
No matter how hard, no matter how fervent, there’s no point in trying.
The glass is so still, as still as can be,
It doesn’t need life, no need to be free,
It hangs and reflects an image of me,
That cold, sad, lost person is me.

Harry Hammond
26th February 2002

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66844.99
ETH 3499.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69