I Cry Alone

in #poetry4 years ago

You wonder why I seem so cold,

So distant and so hard to know,

You think I have a heart of stone,

But you can’t see, you could not know, no one can,

I cry alone.

I see them pass so unaware,

From what’s on view they cannot tell,

Even when they stand so close

I’m safe inside, my mind is mine, I hide my pain

And cry alone.

In solitude away from eyes I cry.

When in a crowded room with an audience at hand,

With those who would deride my pain I hide.

My joy for life does not fade,

Even through my darkest hour,

Still I hope and sometimes pray

That happiness my soul will fill then once again

I’ll cry out loud. I’ll share my tears.

Harry Hammond
28th October 2001

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66844.99
ETH 3499.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69