You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "As He Demurs" (poem/article) >>> Toxic Masculinity ... or Ideological Hyperbole?

in #poetry6 years ago

Wow, okay this may take me some time to digest but it is indeed a very interesting view! I guess I may have to read it many times but I love the poems a lot and the last that your daughter sent to the boyfriend, it made me chuckled a bit. hahaha! :)

#steemitbloggers

Sort:  

@happycrazycon,

... and the last that your daughter sent to the boyfriend, it made me chuckled a bit. hahaha! :)

You have no idea how much pleasure I got from writing that poem. :-)

You know, it's funny. The people who like that poem the most: My daughter and her girlfriends. About a half-dozen have t-shirts on which the poem and graphics are printed.

About a year ago, I was razzing the girls about boys. Teasing them about guys asking them out. They fell silent, "Guys don't do that anymore. Only the [insert pejorative] do." The comment was said with such sincerity ... and poignant frustration ... that it took me aback.

Romance is a dance, and the boys seem to have forgotten their moves ... or, they've been terrified into not making them. As a father of a pretty daughter, I suppose I ought to be happy. Surprisingly, I'm not.

I suggested, given modern ethos being what they are, that they, the girls, could ask out the guys. Not one thought that was a good idea (to say the least). There's a way that dating is supposed to happen. "The guys are the gas pedal ... the girls are the brakes. The guys aggress, we defend."

I almost fell off my chair. "What happened to feminism?"

I read about a study several months ago (I can't remember where but you could undoubtedly find it on Google) that stated that the Post-Millenial generation (Gen Z), is the most conservative generation since World War II. How do you like them beans?

In my own experience, the girls especially, seem to be rejecting the 'feminist' mantra. Yes, they want equality for women (which they feel they have) ... but enough with the whole "there's no difference between men and women" stuff. They want the guys to be guys, and they want the girls to be girls. They have no problem with the idea of common sense 'gender roles' and they love the idea of chivalry ... guys opening doors and, get this ... guys asking a girl's father permission to take her out on a date (I suspect that that last one presumed that the father would always say yes).

Things are rarely as simple as we'd like them to be.

Quill

they want the guys to be guys, and they want the girls to be girls. They have no problem with the idea of common sense 'gender roles' and they love the idea of chivalry ... guys opening doors and, get this ... guys asking a girl's father permission to take her out on a date

I feel like this might not be a "return to how it used to be" so much as a result of the increasing acceptance of transgenderism. If you are free to change your gender to suit your personality, then suddenly the traditional confining roles are OK again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43