Score like an Egyptian!

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

As we are building towards the Champions League Final in Kiev this weekend, I thought I would share another little bit of creativity from earlier this year.

While I was in Cambodia I watched Liverpool play Watford on tv. The next day I was reflecting on the amazing Mo Salah and how good he was, and I wondered why we hadn't come up with a song to the tune of Walk like an Egyptian. Too obvious for scousers to do that. Nevertheless, having time on my hands I wrote a version of the song with lyrics about Mo Salah. If anyone knows the tune to the Bangles 'Walk like an Egyptian' then you'll know how this should go.

All the old scousers on the Kop
We do the Mo dance don’t you know
If he scores too quick we all sing
Songs about our Egyptian Mo

All the boozing fans in the pub
They got their money on a bet
Mo’s gonna score home or away
He’ll bang one in with his left
For all his different types of goal we say
At home or awaaay-oh-whey-oh
Score like an Egyptian

Da da da da da, da da da da, da da da da da

When Mohamed Salah he plays
He spins around when he gets the ball
He’s got the moves oh whey oh
Gives the ball a dink and then he scores

All the scoring records he’s broken them
With Klopp’s heavy metal brand
On the Kop they sing here we go
They sing score like an Egyptian

Jurgen Klopp and the Spion Kop say
Ay oh whey oh, ay oh whey oh
Score like an Egyptian

Slides his feet hits it sweet then it’s in the back
Of the net again
He’s scoring goals home and away
He strikes the ball like an Exocet

If you wanna find Jurgen Klopp
He’s hanging out in the Spion Kop
Where they sing and dance oh whey oh
Hold their scarves and then they wave their flags

All the old scallies they’re old men
They used to sit in the Kemlyn
And watch Kenny's boys now they know
They’re here to watch our Egyptian

Jurgen Klopp and the Spion Kop say
Ay oh whey oh, ay oh whey oh
Score like an Egyptian
Score like an Egyptian

Sort:  

Really an author who is very experienced in poetry

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, I've checked out your waterfalls posts and you do like them a lot, it's nice to see someone writing about their passion. Sometimes it is lost in translation but it's good of you to try and write in English. Keep it up!

I think you should record a cover version with these lyrics... and do it before Saturday to cash in on number 6!

I can't sing, you're welcome to do it for me and we split the profits? Get Sam on the case to help with the music, we can go three ways. I have forgiven him for his offensive faux pas a few years back!

OK dude, I'll talk to him in the summer... we could give some to charidy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66