Happy Khayyam's birthday

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

May 18th, the day of commemoration of Hakim Omar Khayyam and the National Day of Mathematics in Iran

Today, May 18, it coincides with the anniversary of the birth of a poet, mathematician and austere of Iran, Hakim Omar Khayyam. Hakim Omar Khayyam Nishapur, is one of the great mathematicians and poets of Iran in the late 5th and early 6th centuries.

Indeed the Idols I have loved so long
Have done my credit in this World much wrong:
Have drown'd my Glory in a shallow Cup
And sold my Reputation for a Song.

گر آمدنم به من بُدي نامدمي
ور نيست شدن به من بُدي کي شدمي
آن به نبُدي که اندر دير خراب
نه آمدمي نه بُدمي نه شدمي

reference:
http://classics.mit.edu/Khayyam/rubaiyat.html
http://drelahighomshei.appoweb.ir/%D8%AE%DB%8C%D8%A7

Sort:  

Hello mr. hakimomarkhayyam.... Greetings from Venezuela... I join to the celebration! Omar Khayyam is one of my fundamental poets ever... His poetry is so contemporary... One of the big gift of Iran to the humanity... Here, one of my favorite, in spanish, of course:

¿Nuestro tesoro? El vino. ¿Nuestro palacio? La taberna. ¿Nuestros fieles amigos? La sed y la embriaguez. Ignoramos la inquietud
porque sabemos que nuestras almas, lo mismo que nuestras copas y trajes mancillados, no tienen que temer ni el polvo ni el agua ni el fuego.

In english:

Our treasure? The wine. Our palace? The tavern. Our faithful friends? Thirst and drunkenness. We ignore the concern
for we know that our souls, as well as our sullied cups and robes, need not fear dust or water or fire.

In Persian? Well, I owe it to you. Hehehe....

Of course, I’ll follow you… Would you follow me?
yomismosoy’s Blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71