It HappenssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

It Happens

In student life a loner
I wandered in an encasing,
Every time I encountered her
My heart would start racing…

We didn’t share a relationship;
But we were classmates,
Each one trying to initiate
the unlocking of closed gates.

I invited her to be my friend
Unsure what her answer would be;
Then gradually we blossomed
In each other’s company.

My love for her kept growing
Now each day was just grand…
My friend to me was special,
I watched my heart expand.

In my “make-belief” world
I trusted every word she had spoken,
But it wasn’t very long before
I was left heart-broken.

We had many misunderstandings;
I whined and just held on,
Unwilling to let her go;
But shortly she was gone.

She seemed to be the example
Of a person “using people” and “loving things”,
Through her I grew and experienced
The joys and pain every relationship brings.

Friends must be held with affection,
Not too loosely and not too tightly;
Everyone has a special need,
to be loved and yet to be free.

In life whatever happens
Happens for a reason…
Not everyone stays with you for a lifetime,
Some come only for a season…

Ananya

Sort:  

Cool poem. Follow me @aboylal :).

Thank you @aboylal! Followed!

Congratulations @guruji7! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87