The Rebirth

in #poetry7 years ago

A poem about ALS, overcoming the fear of death, and living the best life possible.

The Rebirth

You must die before you can live, he said,
For this is not a returning to health but a rebirth.

So I laid down my burdens upon the earth,
While holding my gaze upon the sky,
And took a step forward.

I have no need to return to where I’ve been,
For I was younger then and this path has shaped me,
Much as a master carver whittles away at wood,
Shaving away excess so that all that remains,
Is a man with no fear of death.

For I have walked through the fire,
Faced myself in the mirror and found love,
And I do not mourn but honor the death of who I was,
For it was that path that brought me here,
To this place of grace and gratitude,
In which I can now more fully embrace life.

Ryan Farnsworth, 2017

Sort:  

Brilliant, ryan! You're the man!

Thank you Funkit, truly appreciate it man!

I needed to read that right now! Facing cancer scare. Heavy xx

@francesleader, I wish you the best of health and I believe that healing is possible under Any circumstances. I am sorry for the weight of your journey, but I hope you can find lightness! Thanks for reading :)

And I do not mourn but honor the death of who I was, very beautiful and very strong. Great sentence that tells volumes.

That means a lot, thank you @sumsum :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54