Forbidden Zone - An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

His chubby cheeks
forged in youth.
Lingering jeopardy
hides behind his eyes
fixated on the horizon,
unseen enemies.

His frat boy smile
wields relief;
almost blinding me
to the machine gun
casually pointing
toward motorists.

Protecting
an imaginary border.
Does the threat of violence
make it real?
Is he playing make believe
or am I?




Image Source


Contests:

Meme Generators:

Helpful Links:


I'm Oznog, bitch!.jpeg

Sort:  

hey man. look forward to more poetry. the short lines add breath and time to reflect on each line as well as a sense of urgency. is this intended? either way, it paints a vivid - yet casual picture of the human barrier and threat of violence that protects the state. I myself have reflected "am i being paranoid? dramatic?" i say always question the systems people take for granted - its the only way the world can progress. cheers!

Thanks man, I didn't intend for that.

I was trying to write it somewhat minimalist without actually turning it into a minimalist poem and I ended the lines where I would have for a minimalist poem.

I wrote this poem about the guards that I kept running into at the French border and also about me coming to terms with being forced out of Britain in a month.

No doubt about it, you are the one playing make believe.

Poignant. Nothing disturbs me more - monsters, demons, the darkness I conjur up on pages - than the real people that happily do the work of the state.

LOL
That is very funny :)

bravo

Nice...💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86