Condom – An Original Poem

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)


My birth was abrupt,
As my wrapper ripped
Me into this
Candlelit world.

Fleeting childhood,
Gone in an instant,
But I filled out
And rolled tall.

Then the plunge
Again and again,
Screaming
“I can't swim!”

I clung tight,
Navigating my way
Into middle age.
Million new souls

Demanding me
To bend and break,
But traditions are sacred;
To much was at stake.

Deflated by old age;
Tied in a knot
Discarded in the bin;
Everyone forgot.



Link to unedited image source

Sort:  

I think there are a lot of good and great poems that manage to do what they want to do. I'm not sure on this one. Small glimmer of improving imagery. Rhythm coming on very well though. Worthy of up-votes, but $'s?? Mmmm...maybe! 5/10.

Thank you for your honest review, it means a lot.

The path of the improving poet never truly ends...tune in later today for my latest poem post :) All the best @mindhunter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62