The Whale and the Minnow - An original poem

in #poetry6 years ago

I wrote this one a while back...I don't think I ever published it!

whale.jpg
source

Oh monstrous whale do you see me here?
If you squint reeaaal hard I might become clear

I’m a speck on your radar, a pea in your sea
As apparent to you as a dog with a flea

Your wake is a force to be reckoned with, shit
Takes all of my strength just to battle with it

You’re freakishly large and you pass me on by
Will you ever take notice? Will I catch your eye?

Do you want me to carry your heavy crown?
Take a load off your wallet that’s weighing you down?

I may be a minnow and challenged with size
The name is unfair though with what it implies

The big things about me come straight from my heart
My immense sense of humor and vast love for art

Without me you’d probably fail to thrive
This place needs us both if we’re to survive

You whales have the power to bully or boost
That burden is yours as the king of the roost

So swim over my way and slap me some fin
Let’s build us an empire where big and small win


Sort:  

I remember this! Excellent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75