NOSTALGIA!!! (A poem)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

With my tail between my legs
I ink down these thoughts.
Permit me to flush off my blush
So I be void of colour as I paint with my brush,
This Mona Lisa of my mourning insides.

Oh...
How has the mighty fallen!

unnamed.jpg

Image Source

Evolution has tutored us
Mutating our ways of life gene by gene.
Upon a clock, time once told golden tales of our race.
We, the envy of many jealousies, are now jealousing every story that shines brighter
Than our past glory.
Our voice no longer quake the hearts of our foes
But now whispers for pity and more pity.

Where is the strength of Africa?

images (1).jpeg

Image Source

Africa is now "Half"rica
Cos like a knife on a cake
Our value is halved.
Our culture, in exile.

We devalue ourselves on the platter of Modernization
That's our excuse.
But if a virgin deflowers her virginity
On excuse of curiosity, does it make it less worse?
We did this to us
Lusted after the lost
We forgot the cost of our crust
Our modus operandi buried by their modus vivendi.

Sad.

Many will say Tech and Modernization killed our nation.
My brush paints faint hands
Wielding cake knives
High up in the air
Ready to sail down
To halve the little half left.


U5drJh8YzSp1sdfK6fxhAzpt42QU8BU.gif

U5ds1uuUe5oWfGzCPu8sMJjTChTTgQz_1680x8400.jpeg


With much love,

@godwine

Sort:  

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Thank you so much.
I'm really awed. Thank you so much.

Jeez...I'm awed at this. You're quite a creative writer. Captured my attention at the start and sustained it throughout the post.

Awesome! 💪

Gracias.
I truly appreciate.

What a terrific poem, incredible depth of feeling!

A great choice for Post of the Day.

You've always believed in my writing. Thank you for all your support.

Great poem brother! I loved it! I'm so glad you are elected for the post of the day! Keep writing, it's beautiful.

Coming from you, this means a lot to me.
Taking time outta your busy day to read this has made me feel so fly.
Thank you very much.

Beautiful use of words. Your poem is unique.

Thank you very much.
I'm quite glad you read it. Thank you.

It's a community work, besides that write up shows the intelligence of the writer.

And the comment shows that the reader's even more intelligent. 😁

this is a beautiful poem

Thank you for your comment. I'm glad you read it.
Thank you.

This is just beautiful!

Thank you for reading. I'm really glad you did.

This is wowwing...may your ink never run dry.

Amen...and thank you for that.
It's encouraging.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87