Invisible Woman

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


Image Credit

I keep being offered an invisible cloak
but I keep rejecting this insult
They say that it's for my protection
They say I'll get hurt
That I'm making a huge mistake
Like I was never meant to have the place on the sidewalk
let alone this earth that I love on

I keep being offered an invisible cloak because "I don't know what is best for me" My disappearance is the cure for my fear of existence My fear of being harassed, assaulted or killed Because being a woman means guilty before innocent The cause of all chaos

Living with a finger in my face pointing at me Pointing at my clothes, my skin, my face and my body I am destruction I am too tempting I am barely human because human don't have a value that decreases and increases based on how many times they wrap their bodies in cotton or polyester or their damn virginity

Blame me but God knows that being created a female I don't acquire the sins of others crimes and hypocrisy.

Sort:  

beautiful lines.how soulfull.

post.JPG

Congratulation

Today 1 year ago you joined SteemIt
Thank you, for making SteemIt great and Steem on for more years to come!

(You are being celebrated here)

Congratulations @gitanjlisahni! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69684.47
ETH 3531.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73