As I Reached for a Peach

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I reached for a peach,
Turned my back on the world,
Burrowed inside,
Made my bed in its core.
I hung lanterns
From ripples of grooves
In its stone,
Used soft blankets and hammocks
To flesh out its womb.
Curled up and spooned up
Dug, dug myself in,
Outside all sealed off
By sweet flesh
Insulation.
Soft; ripe in its comfort
A peachy, warm glow,
Till peach was all eaten
And, with heavy reluctance,
My eyes once again opened
And back, back, back,
Into the world,
I was thrown.

Because I am so DESPERATE to get off my meds and out of the very bizarre and frightening world of our health system, I have been experimenting with a fruit and salad only diet. I'm 12 days in - hence the ridiculously expensive consumption of lots of peaches, and, I suppose, the spaciness I'm experiencing when eating them. Anyway, guess what? My joints have actually been incredibly well behaved! (for them!) but, in other news, I have felt like s*** with no energy and yet more weight loss. I therefore had cooked rice just before and it felt WRONG, but I can literally feel myself coming up on the energy. On top of all this, today I had an MRI -and, unlike everybody else in the whole entire world, I always find them a deeply cocooning experience and hate when I get pulled out. So this flash poem is my world today. Fruit and MRI machines!

My blog is a poetic record of both my life with, and my efforts to crush,
seronegative arthritis.
(https://steemit.com/@girlwithoutwings)

Sort:  

You'll get paid out after 7 days since you posted the article.

Wicked. No idea what this means tho but am sure I'll work it out :)

Hey Jackie!
Upvoted!

Hey danny! Great to hear from you :)

Beautiful Poem. Thanks @girlwithoutwings

Ah thank you how kind

Loading...

Thanks for sending me this. I quite like the lull of the mri too. It blocks out my tinnitus, and smashes me into oblivion.

OMG tinnitus was the beginning of all my troubles! ARGHGHGH! But glad you like the MRI :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42