You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Ravendale Hill: Part 1

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I am watching this at 3 am...
Steroid induced activity and pain usually have me up early these days, my circadian rhythm apparently, the adrenal glands scream you awake at 3 because the body should be producing life essential cortisol which has been suppressed by usage and induced adrenal insufficiency that nearly also killed me last year through medical negligence.

They told me it was a 300 km run that did it (it didn't do me any favours), but it was there since childhood. Multiple laryngeal collapse at 2 and 3 (connective tissue disorder missed, was blamed on tantrums), wrongly labelled at 8 with rheumatoid arthritis, teenager pelvic instability (was told my left leg was shorter when my pelvis was actually dislocated)..., first pregnancy told ligament pain normal (pelvic and rib dislocation the whole time), postpartum disaster when again missed (bpad2 was thrown in the mix too which was not the case, with catastrophic outcomes MUPPETS! OF THE WORST KIND .

Second pregnancy 10 years later, determined to do everything right. I was super fit and active. Biathlons, competition swimming, cycling running... A return to fitness had restored my life. The pregnancy did trigger problems or maybe stop me. I was obsessed with running. Running literally from everything. 8 weeks postpartum I ran my first "fun run" only 7 kms, my knees were not OK. But the only coping strategy I knew was exercise and I had so much to process, and the treadmill made everything make sense and I felt powerful.
So I signed up for, not a marathon...but 7 marathons in a week in seven different cities.

That was July 2016. I came home broken, and didn't really get better. I got a little bit better, I made it to work now and then but I struggled to get through a shift. I had done a lot of damage to joints that didn't have the support of normal connective tissue, but I was still yet to be diagnosed. I still didn't know I had this disorder.

I knew I had problems before the run. I went to a hand physio for compression gloves because my hands swelled and hurt when I ran and I couldn't keep my right thumb in place it popped out all the time. I have degeneration in both hands I know that now, and also dysautonomia which effects peripheral flow blah blah...

Dysautonomia also meant my heart rate was crazy. Before I even took one step on a treadmill my pulse was 140, it always went over 200 when I ran. I knew these things but I didn't know they were all related, and I ignored them.

I dislocated my knee's in the 2nd marathon and my right hip in the 5th. I don't even document that in my epic post linked above. Dislocations I thought were fairly normal, just pop it back in. I held my hip in for the last marathon, and ran on stress fractures.

I was finally diagnosed with Ehlers danlos syndrome last year and had a couple of dura tears repaired, which was necessary but distracted from my spine damage treatment that is a huge problem. I hope this is the time to address that now.

I had never written a poem before I landed in this and on steemit. Now everything flows in verse and it is my path to follow this process through. I know it is. Lady Robyn of eggs has been instrumental in this for me too, as has the Soul of Ren, and the prophet sir Clay of boyn.

I can not reference the raven here. I will message you. I will tell you that watching your video made me cry.
I want to be held in the claws of that raven again.
To feel precious and worth treasuring.
I want to feel the safety as he carry's me to the very end of the journey.
I want him to hold on tight like he did.
When I am weak, not let go.
Not to release me mid flight and turn on wing to not even witness the fall.
I want to soar the sky together and feel like a treasure not a burden to carry.
I want to feel I belong in those claws where divinity is not an abstraction.

Sort:  

Omg sobbing my heart out. Your story.... wow and Your words at the end... are we twins lol? I really can't write much more now as my hands are too painful but what an incredible amount of strain - no wonder your work resonates so strongly.. thank you so much for sharing your story with me. Thank you so much xxxxxx

IMG_20180228_071318.jpg

We are visited by ravens every day. My little one got excited this morning and called me to look. He knows they are the ones I'm not scared of.
He took some photos, they were a lot closer than this looks.
I think of you everytime I see them. X

I found myself surrounded by ravens are cockatoos the other day.
I had just been doing some research into indigenous peoples stories about them, so was a little excited.
The family groups of the Noongar people from western Australia are divided to subgroups that are represented either by the raven or the cockatoo.

In the past, the Noongar had two great family groups – the crows (Wardong) and the white cockatoos (Mandich) – and for a crow to marry a crow or a cockatoo to marry a cockatoo was regarded as incest and severely punished. They saw the crow and cockatoo as "yin and yang", each complementing and balancing the other's characters.

Ravens are commonly referred to as crows in Australia. But they are actually ravens.

www.farmweekly.com.au/news/metro/national/general/ancient-tales-of-perths-fascinating-birds/2694345.aspx

Fantastic I absolutely love this! How lucky you are to have one come so close! I had a group of about 8 land around me a while ago - probably youths I'm guessing as apparently that is the only time they tend to travel in groups. I didn't realise at the time how lucky I was to have seen that as I've never seen it since although I do always see a raven when I go out for a walk <3 I'm sorry I haven't been in. I've been incredibly run down and also I've had to take a step back from lots of stuff well I try and get my hands in order. However I have just bought this brilliant book by a lady called Sharon Butler and it is all about releasing the tension very very gradually bit by bit in overworked hands. I am still around just not popping in all the time. I really hope you are ok and you are reaching some kind of resolution with your issues. I think of you often xx

I spend a lot of time resting, it drives me crazy, but I also have trouble with hands and posture. I take a note book or sketch book and lie down on my bed.
I could hear a raven in the trees, I couldn't see it but I could hear it call. I thought of you and made a short video. I will send it to you, maybe in an email.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62571.47
ETH 2429.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66