ODE CHALLENGE POETRY CONTEST : Fallen Friend

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Ode Challenge #1 hosted by @japhofin8or

A Broken Lawn Chair. Check it out


Fallen Friend

You were never treated as an equal to those on the inside,
Through wind and rain and snow, given nowhere safe to hide.

When I ventured out into the yard you were always there,
Available in times of need to support my derrière.

Being stuck inside the house can sometimes feel hard,
I'd step out and there you were, awaiting in the yard.

The picnic rug I'm sitting on can not compare to you,
It rained last night, my arse is wet, the water's soaked right through.

I witnessed your last moment beneath dear Mrs Plum,
I realised never again would you be craddling my bum.

IMG_20170712_082136.jpg

We bought a mould plastic one while shopping in Kmart,
Although I 'spose it does the job, it's lacking any heart.

You moulded to my form over the time we spent together,
The new one is okay, but adequately replace you, it will never.

Every time it rains at night I think of you my friend,
If I'd taken better care perhaps you be holding my rear end.

I wish I had appreciated what I had with you,
Nothing can replace you, no-one knew my butt like you.

Chair pic from pixabay


Thanks for stopping by 😀

IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

beautiful and touching poem! Thanks for share

This is a fantastic ode. Good write. I enjoyed reading it.

I didn't know what an ode was until this challenge, so I'm glad to hear it resembles one.

This is amazing!

Best I've read yet!!! TALENT! 🍽


I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge

😂 I should send that statement to my english teacher .
I never had that kind of feedback.
Disruptive to others, does not complete set work, very disappointing result.

It made me smile. There is nothing that can replace a favourite seat!

I laughed, I cried, I went and set outside. RIP chair, you was a good chair.

Nicely done, and a well-deserved first place! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43