Poetry Slam Challenge 6: A LIFE FOREBODING [Original Poem]

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I would like to thank @prufarchy @serejandmyself and @timsaid for running these challenges. This poem is just a normal rhyming one to me. If you wish to participate go to this post.


A LIFE FOREBODING

by @getonthetrain

In the time of my boyhood I had a strange feeling
That I was to die in the noon of my day
Not quietly like a thief stealing
But my life torn suddenly away

So even when my enjoyment was keenest
I feared my fire quenched and hissing in doom
That even when my garden was greenest
Some blight would quickly end its bloom

It might just have been me succumbing
To evil visions resembling the truth
But it could also be a large storm coming
To cast shadows over my youth

It may have been just a dream or a mystical revealing
But the thought haunted me year after year
And whenever I felt my happy heart filling
I remembered those dark whispers in my ear

So I drank of my life as if I were a man thirsty
As I rushed up the steep path to fame
I had harvested my garden too early
But at least I had won for myself a name

My triumphs I viewed from the least to the brightest
As accomplishments plucked from Death’s teeth
But whenever I felt proud in the slightest
I would search for the skeleton beneath

This life, to others, seemed amazing
Money, women, cars; I had it all
My name the media was always praising
I, alone, knew of and awaited the fall

About death I had always been thinking
My own thoughts had made me depressed
So I took to hard drugs and drinking
And in turn, my life became messed

To escape my problems I drove faster
But today Death had come to collect
Up ahead a sharp turn led to disaster
Drinking, drugs, and driving had my life wrecked

As I lay bloody and dying, a bright light I did see shine
And thought, as the paramedics applied a suture,
There was one truth this whole time
A young boy had seen his future


This poem is dedicated to @ezzy for his amazing stories and friendship.

Edit: This poem won first place in the challenge!

Photo from pixabay

Sort:  

Dam*! You've been holding back on us - the crowd goes wild and demands more poetry!

Thank you @modernbukowski, sometimes the mood strikes and I change from my normal posts. :D

Wow, thanks for that! Coming from someone as skilled as yourself it means the world to me!

The picture of the flower is as sad as the message in the poem to me.

Well, if my writing made you feel then I think I accomplished something. :)

Indeed. Indeed, as it is meant to be. :-)

I don't know if you've ever listened to Thrice, but they are a band that does story poetry and we're a favorite of mine in the 00's. This piece could've been written by them, it's very beautiful and poignant.

The idea of the blight quickly ending the garden's greenest bloom was especially strong and sticks with me. Thanks for the awesome poem!!

Thank you for putting it all together and give me something to challenge myself with!

I had not heard about Thrice, so I am off to youtube now :D

You're a wordsmith through and through, buddy. Your skills and talents seem to be limitless. Professional articles, fantastical stories and now poetic perfection.

Beautiful written and touching poem. Your contribution to the challenge couldn't be more fitting and I wish you all the best.

Very, very well done indeed!

Thank you @ezzy, your encouragements have led me to different ways to express my creativity. Thanks again for reading and commenting! :D

Thank you for reading it, I do feel it is currently my best :)

I am looking forward to reading more of your work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71