SAD POETRY

in #poetry6 years ago


I wrote this poem for a friend's neighbour who last week lost her 21 yr old son through suicide. Although I've never met her I felt her pain and wanted to help her as my friend told me she's now suicidal herself. I tried my best to find the right words to both show my sympathy but also encourage her to carry on...

A wasted life...

A life has gone, a life will change,
From now your world will all seem strange,
You have to find the strength right now,
To get back on your feet somehow,

You cannot change the last few days,
And coming weeks will be a haze,
But time will slowly heal your pain,
Let friends and family ease the strain,

They can help to get you through,
That's their job, it's what they do,
Although you'll never be the same,
Words can sometimes soothe the pain,

So read these words I wrote for you,
And take them in because they're true,
Your world has stopped, I understand,
This tragic moment came unplanned,

But your life has to carry on,
The one you've lost is now foregone,
He wouldn't want to see you cry,
So wipe the tears from both your eyes,

Stand up tall and get together,
All your strength, it's now or never,
Show the world what you can do,
You're not alone, we're all with you!

Sort:  

@Geotorb, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin


Sponsored by @ogoowinner

To get upvote from @wafrica, the post needs at least 300 characters! Please describe your work in detail ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47