Icarus: 1 [original epic poem]

in #poetry8 years ago

He flew toward the sun for three hours
his limbs, like his wings frosted over and cold
seeped into his mind an atmospheric haze
"I'll never reach it, I'll die tired and old."
The moon saw Icarus and shouted, "Look up!"
Icarus looked and thought, "WTF!"

The moon LOL'd back "GPS tracking
will guide you towards me, this view
gets it all with just a bit of hacking
I can you wifi too
so sink or swim--towards me
either way I'll get you your story."

Icarus looked down at a world without light
except for the fires he knew from myths
now asleep in memory a person's right
to behold language made river Styx
and an Ol' Hercules cleaning up god's
shit--behold the world at odds

with brighter light I must make moon
shine down the darkness for finer stuff
that engages bark of loon and will soothe
the little turf for which we scuffle
that heaps up dry leave after leave
and makes into labels for Lipton Tea

"Achoo!" the moon can brand to
gesundheit--how do you spell kleenex
in German or France the word spelled out
K-L-E-E-N-E-X-brand's a product sku
if it transcends language it must profit you
be sure to put it on your shelves--ado

That Icarus, is all you'll get from me
now sleep and rest, tomorrow I'll find you
a way to manner words..."

Sort:  

Nice, but keep the profanity away to make it classy.

2nd drafts help

If it's an art contest--you can put your make-up away.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66