You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TGIF (Original Spoken Word)

in #poetry6 years ago

Stirring. Really moving... I'm sort of speechless.
So much here to admire, but these lines stand out and ring in my ears:

among the convicts he was raised
and praised, in jest
his chest, bare
but his arms, wide

Sort:  

Thanks @geke! I'm sorry for the late reply. I got caught up doing some other things.

With this poem, I was trying to say some things without saying them. I was trying to come at a poem about Christ from a different angle by not using the normal adoration type language. I also wanted to be mostly non-spiritual so as to not alienate readers who are sensitive to that aspect (because this poem is not about that). With these lines, I wanted to point out the metaphoric interpretation of his outstretched arms. Thanks again for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79