Here for you, but not for long. They're here, and then they're gone.

in #poetry6 years ago

"I'm here for you."
They always say, in different words, on different days.
But then the time comes where you need them, and they're gone.
So many friends, lovers, lost.

We drift through this life alone.
But some days, it would nice if they hadn't gone.

It would be nice to have someone there.
Someone with which your joys and pains to share.

New friends come and it starts again.
You build trust but hide secrets and sins.
You hope one day to share it all,
But then weeks pass, and they don't call.

Days past, friends lost, it starts again,
A new friend you like, but can't trust in.

Pause stop rewind.

Will this one stay?
Or is it just another that will only be here today.

I don't want to be a pessimist,
But life has taught me friends are indefinite.
And today, today I'm just looking for someone to ease the pain.

maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com-Black-And-White-Clouds-Tree-Fence-Lonely-2903256.jpg
Black And White Clouds Tree Fence Lonely
Image CC0 Public Domain (source)

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Friendships seem to come and go for me as well. I suppose they're just there for a time. I've found myself hesitant to put too much into friendships anymore, but I don't think that's probably the right thing to do, either.

Great poem!

wow, deep words @geekpowered. I've learned to cherish my alone times and use them as an opportunity for self-discovery.

If your friends aren't there for you when you need them, maybe they're just shit friends.

I think I've been that shit friend before. I should call some folks.

I think I've been that shit friend before. I should call some folks.

We all have.

You should. Not just now, but occasionally.
Or write a letter or an email.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55910.18
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27