The Retired Prophet

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Francisco_José_de_Goya_y_Lucientes_-_The_sleep_of_reason_produces_monsters_(No._43),_from_Los_Caprichos_-_Google_Art_Project.jpg

From creche, I have been told of you.
Your name felt familiar from the first,
rattling in my head,
like a long forgotten lesson.
Like a key.

I've grown older.
I've grown old.
I retreated to the deserts,
and to the high places,
where none but you may tread.

I kept looking,
yet you did not call out to me.
I've kept looking,
but my eyes could not see you,
could not see your fingers in the wind.

I accepted it;
that we will not meet,
in this lifetime.
I'd grown to fear it;
that you are not here.

And then, you've summoned me.
You called out to yourself,
and the you within me resonated,
called back.
And I've come to face you.

At long last.

I have looked into your unseen face,
and listened to your ineffable cries.
I burned with them.
I burned with you.
I burned with relief, and washed with tears.

I set out into the mortal world once more,
carrying your truth like a torch,
to burn fear and darkness,
to shine your glory,
to shine my love.

And they have come to love the message,
more than they loved the truth.
And they have come to love the messenger,
more than they loved the truth.
O My Brothers and Sisters!

And you, O Truth,
shrank back into your deserts,
into your caves,
into your high places.
Without me.

More than you feared
their lack of understanding,
you feared my burning love,
my understanding, the clear sight,
of you.

You did not withdraw from the world,
for you had long since done so.
But you withdrew from me,
hoping against hope,
to not be singed by my flames.

You called out to me.
But it was you, that you sought,
and loving your own child,
your own cry,
is not so easy.

Even when you are Truth Itself.

You brought me to see your deserts,
but then feared the fires in my eyes.
You brought me to hear your windy mountaintops,
but then you feared the song in my soul.
You sought then, to undo all you have wrought.

Yet not all.

You cautioned me.
Telling me you are not Everything,
and that it is my own truth,
shining within me,
lighting the world afire.

You told me to go
to the great libraries of the world,
and to drink deep from knowledge,
though I told you all knowledge is yours,
but reflected.

O Truth,
you told me of the follies of rationality,
and yet in your despair,
you ushered me to them,
so you may not disappear in my faith.

And you withdrew from me.
Leaving me to burn up.
Leaving me to burn out,
without your smile,
to sustain the fires.

And so I sought out books,
to feed your fires,
smoking still within me,
banked, but not doused,
so they may not die out.

And there,
far from your message,
and far from those who would love me,
your messenger,
I cooled and tempered my flames.

In trying to show the world of you,
I have learned that you have your limits.
I doubted, and in doubting, thought.
I thought, and in thought, was.
Was alone, once more.

Alone with my truth.
Alone with you.
I seek to unchain myself,
to have you let my self blaze up
in your glory,
and the glory of our love,
and of our reflected natures,
of our cries for the truth the other bears,
once more.

Until then,
I jealously guard these fires that burn within me,
which you have called for,
to not let cold rationality drown them out.
Not even you, will I permit that.

The flames, once wild,
now controlled, burn still.
I look to you,
still yours.
Still true.

Separator line_smallEST.jpg

If last week's two poems, Illusions and The Hermit were thesis and anti-thesis, then this poem is their synthesis. It draws on their subject matter. It draws on their themes. And it brings both of them closer together.

This poem is as always, dedicated to @mamadini, who speaks within me, and whose words spring forth as poetry.

Thanks to all the @isleofwrite members, and especially @carolkean, @whoshim, @carmalain7, and @authorofthings for feedback on this piece.

Check out my latest posts:

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Image used is The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters (El sueño de la razón produce monstruos), by Francisco Goya, 1799, and is public domain.

© Guy Shalev 2018.

Sort:  

This is as fine as poetry gets!
I wish I could say more. I just cannot.
Thank you. <3

Thank you, for all you have given me. And thank you for the praise, and I'm glad you like it, O Muse.

Just joined Steem, and just discovered you. I'm enjoying your work very much. Thanks, Guy.

You had me at The Retired Prophet. Bravo, Guy, I will be revisiting this... two readings are not enough.

I had a feeling you'd like this piece, Yahia. Thank you for the kind words, much appreciated.

Hey, you changed the image, which alters the tone, somewhat. The sleep of reason produces angels, too ;)

But, seriously, I admire the big thinking/feeling, here, and how you are able to borrow the thunder and lyricism of holy books... No mean feat, mister, keep it up.

I actually planned to use this image to begin with, and just forgot about it while publishing the post.

And yes, it does give birth to angels too. The full quote is quite important for that one:

The full epigraph for capricho No. 43 reads; "Fantasy abandoned by reason produces impossible monsters: united with her (reason), she (fantasy) is the mother of the arts and the origin of their marvels."

So yes, this is also about the joining of rationality and fantasy.

And thank you. I commented on it before, when @sunravelme commented on my work using religious motifs without being preachy - this is my cultural heritage. This is a big part of what I soaked up as I grew up, alongside as much Greek and Norse mythology and folktakes from Poland and Arab countries (Juha, for instance), as I could put my hands on.

Thank you :)

Thanks, for sharing the full quote, Guy :)

I remember reading an earlier post of yours (things we didn’t know about you) where you spoke of your cultural heritage. And I remember relating to that, to some extent.

man, what a treat it is to come back to this piece after a few days away. All your recent pieces, I'm glad they are captured here for me to find some inspiration when I need it (especially when I find myself quite drained because my eyes have been searching for inspiration a good bit of late).

It's funny, our approach to writing could not be more different, me afraid of space (and conscious of it), I'm a clutterer while you are the king of creating space (or maybe a Tetris champion), and you can feel it most in these pieces where they become long from.

It's just easy and smooth to read you, Guy, like whitespace on the page, you guide a reader along so smoothly that sometimes it takes me more than a few stanzas to realize something a few stanzas back really caught my attention and blew my mind.

I don't remember if I mentioned it in earlier drafts, but here are my most noted of those in this piece:

How concisely you convey this key shift in the piece:

And they have come to love the message,
more than they loved the truth.
And they have come to love the messenger,
more than they loved the truth.
O My Brothers and Sisters!

and the other key transition point, for me as a reader, here:

In trying to show the world of you,
I have learned that you have your limits.
I doubted, and in doubting, thought.
I thought, and in thought, was.
Was alone, once more.

I know longer poetry pieces rarely get reads, but I so hope some are pulled by your Empty House pieces to come here.

I know longer poetry pieces rarely get reads, but I so hope some are pulled by your Empty House pieces to come here.

If that worked, the people who constantly had to keep buying bot-votes would be able to stop. Alas. But I've got some of the people who count here with me, and that includes you, friend Alain :)

You told me you loved the Descartes reference, but not the other, and not the shift in tone.

Inspiration is a funny thing. I think reading a lot of dross saps you of inspiration. Commenting and critiquing are also creative work, so they take on your stores of energy, and inspiration. So you need to be careful of overgiving, when you need to find time for your own voice to carry.
I've always found the best thing for inspiration is to either create, specifically non-fiction, which leads to all those other ideas you need to get to, or consuming. Our minds turn all we consume into material to use later. But not when we keep giving. Or when we consume too actively, especially bad stuff...

I do hope my stuff helps you find something to say, not just here, which is always appreciated, mind, but when you seek to take to pen on your own.

Finally, I'm going to ask what you mean about being a clutterer versus my white-space mastery. Your poems don't seem too stacked in black space. Do you mean that your lines tend to be all the same length, and that you keep each stanza of the same length as the others? Don't butter me up, Alain, speak clearly :P

Masterful!
I love how the tone and language remind me of a great Catholic writer (St. Augustine), and you've never even read him, but the spirit, the Zeitgeist, the Muse, something moves you to capture the same passion. Especially,
But you withdrew from me,...
.... You called out to me
But it was you, that you sought,
and loving your own child,
your own cry,
is not so easy.

Thanks Carol. When you told me how I reminded you of him, and then I saw why ("O Truth"), that was high praise!

I wonder, do we consider Augustine and people of his generation to be "Catholic"? Because he was around before all the streams and rivulets of Christianity as we know them today appeared, hm.

(Also, I've read St. Augustine, but only when it comes to his philosophy.)

WOW Very Impressive
אהבתי מאוד את הכתיבה!

Thank you kindly. Reading helps writing, it turns out!

Agree with you! as much as you read the better you write

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 23 SBD worth and should receive 61 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you for your continued support,
Mr. Bot.
Now if only we could get all the vote-bots, to play along.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Thunder_God from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Parts of this piece feel deeply personal to me like it was me who spoke them. Especially these two:

I've grown older.
I've grown old.
I retreated to the deserts,
and to the high places,
where none but you may tread.
.................

I accepted it;
that we will not meet,
in this lifetime.
I'd grown to fear it;
that you are not here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58392.35
ETH 2462.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37