You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Humble Pie (Original poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

This is a very fitting poem from the author of "How to comment on poetry," and I think you definitely should've shared a link to that post here.

I can tell you that when I keep sharing my poems with people it's not just because I long to be adored and told how great of a poet I am (and it still feels quite unreal to receive the praise I do here), but because seven-plus years of The Silence as my sole companion for prose and poetry left a mark. It's more that my poetry is all deeply personal - I don't do contests if you might have noticed, so it is the need to share myself, and to be affirmed - not as a creative, but as a person who feels and dreams.

But yes, this is so common of a thing, the "Look at me! Only me!"

Moving onward, I do agree that the art of giving critique is very much a maligned and ignored one, just look at the quote, "Those who can't do, criticize," while many who can create cannot criticize, and criticizing well is an art in and of itself.

I pride myself on my comments, you know? I take a long while to get to pieces, but it's because my daily time and energy, both creative and general, are quite limited. And I can only provide meaningful critique or feedback to so many pieces a day. And, I'd rather say nothing at all than give meaningless feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44