You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Mute Poet

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Hey, I'm a Philosophy grad student, if I don't use Plato's Cave appropriately, then who will? We must do our part to spread culture, heh.

I am really happy about the line opening and closing this piece. It feels so strong. Both in terms of the overt picture of the mute poet, and what all poets must face, and within the piece. Almost certainly my favourite bit of the piece.

As for the image. I've said before that I take immense pride in how well I feel I match the images I choose to my poems. I worried about this one, because it felt like the connection between the image to the piece is much easier to miss, but it seems I worried needlessly. That's the great thing about such potent images, that they are so full of meaning that they work, by dint of that alone, almost.

As for the reasons I picked this image, and what meaning I hoped to convey with it, in order to follow-up to my answer above and also my discussion with @guytmartland beneath, I'm going to not answer. I am just happy and curious to see all the reads this image brings forth in the minds of the readers.
Almost like a Jungian mask, when you present someone with such an archetypical image. The first murder. Sibling rivalry. Murder born of love. Guilt and hiding the truth that cannot be hidden. And so much more.

(I do wonder what religious allusions you've found in the text though, please feel free to share!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12