You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Critique Poetry - A Simple Structure

in #poetry6 years ago

I'll let you in on a secret. It took multiple reassurances, but there are a couple of "non-poets" and also "non-critiques" whom I give my pieces to give their opinions on.

"I know how it makes me feel, either as a whole, or a line," is exactly what impressionistic feedback is.

Yes, it's not the advanced "constructive criticism," but there's a reason that's the "advanced" bit.

Also, like in game design, most people can tell you what did not work for them. When they tell you why, they are usually wrong, and even more wrong at identifying fixes. So if it makes you feel better, I quite often ignore fixes even from people who "know" what they are doing, focusing mostly on the part of the critique that tells me what bothered them.

And thank you kindly, Byn <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86