THE INVISIBLE CHAIN

in #poetry7 years ago


mount-mckinley-898378_960_720.jpg



I hear the cries from distance far,

The keening wails stop me midflight,

Freezing, I look back, wonder from whence it comes,

Is that my name being carried by the wind,

Who in such pain would cry my name out so,

I look down, formless see myself,

And with thought as fleet as light I am back,

Behold lay he who was not I at all,

A stone cold creature , no longer me.

Anxiously I watch the women shower themselves with dust,

Their keening wails outbid my beloved spouse,

Whose silent tears hurt more than their cries of pain,

And though the call, relentless, persistent in its will,

Bid me move on, my raison d’etre being done,

Her wordless pain, my children’s eyes clouded by uncontained fears,

Peg my eager wings from flight and though it might seem small,

On my life I cannot fly,

Caught between this world and next, I hover anxious to be away.

But their pain, fear, tears, chain me still,

Stops my eager soul from flight.

If I could whisper in their ears,

‘’In the name of love wipe your tears away"

As you weep, in me your pain resides,

As your tears refuse to cease, for me there can be no ‘’Perfect peace’’.



Thanks for reading.

Image from pixabay.com



index.png

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

Nice poem, upped, I was able to see, read and upvote your post because you belong to genesisproject family, next time you post, remember to add genesisproject hashtag.

Together we stand. Let’s support one another.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43