The Reflection In The Mirror (Is it speaking to you?)

in #poetry7 years ago

pexels-photo-54377.jpg

Have you ever looked in the mirror and had a conversation with yourself?


I think there are may out there who have had at least a brief discussion with your mirror image. I've always found it to be a bit of an odd experience yet an enlightening one. It allows you to step out of yourself for a moment to look objectively back at yourself and contemplate on something in particular.

Being a middle aged man, I've often wondered lately about the direction of my life. Have I set the right course for the rest of my life or should I be focusing on change in order to help achieve my dreams.

If you haven't tried it, I encourage you to do it. What would you ask the person in the mirror?


pexels-photo-211024.jpg

Reflection In The Mirror


Middle aged and worn complexion
Broken lines creasing your face
Eyes that conceal long tales of the burdens of life
Glazed over like glass and broken with strife

A younger man trapped beneath the exterior
Aching to maximize each remaining precious moment
You hold tightly on to your disappointments and regrets
Like a poker player who wages calculated bets

A family man with responsibilities
To provide and sacrifice
A selfless and thankless profession
Yet it's every man's obsession

So what do you have to say for yourself?
Are you an old man or young spirit?
Will you make the most of the passions within you?
Balking at the naysayers who try and remind you of everything you can't do

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.


pexels-photo-28930.jpg


Images and Audio used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

My D-Tube Channel

Sort:  

Brilliant creation. Even through I am an older woman I could relate to your thoughts on so many levels. I also talk to myself everyday in the mirror it is part if my personal development. When I brush my teeth I ask myself was I a good person yesterday do I need to change any patterns or behaviors but must of all do I need to make any amends to anyone that I wronged. With age come awareness and knowledge and that is a blessed thing. Thanks for your heartfelt poem......appreciated.

Thank you so much for your comment...

Hey man LOVED the post for sure gonna follow and if you don't mind could you check out my post and return the favor?

Thanks for the encouragement. I will check out your page for sure. :)

I often talk to myself even without a mirror

That's not a bad thing... :)
If you liked the article please consider up-voting as well. Thanks! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @freeinthought to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Looking at my reflection in the mirror is one of my main ways of meditating actually. It’s sometimes a really relaxing thing to do if you time your breathing. Perfect time for reflection.

Great to hear. Thanks for commenting. If you liked the article please consider up-voting as well. Thanks! :)

Thanks for such a nice post in steem community. @freeinthought

You got a 0.48% upvote from @upme requested by: @freeinthought.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

I do this almost every night. I use a dark room and a candle.

Interesting. I need to try it that way. I'm just afraid of seeing more than myself in the mirror. Yikes...

Hey! Thank you. I love it! You seem interesting, you got my follow. Please consider following me for art, poetry and other awesomeness!

Thank you. I'll certainly have a look. Who doesn't love awesomeness???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44