The People We (Never) MeetsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago

Alt

The People We (Never) Meet


As I wait for the signal to change
My head hung low in hypnotic stare
Passing my time anxious as if in crisis
Preoccupied with the illusion of companionship of my digital devices

Never do I look up
Except to check for the little man
To direct me further
When it replaces the flashing red hand

Stepping into the crosswalk
Venturing across the street with spring in my step
Beside me a man in wheelchair
Pushed by a boy missing one arm below his bicep

As I notice from the corner of my eye
I wonder if my text will make it to my old school mate
Hoping that he'll be able to respond in time
Regarding my plan to host dinner at eight

Stepping back on to the sidewalk
The crippled man and armless boy
No longer a thought
Who were they? I will never know

I will never know that the man
A decorated wartime hero
On his very last patrol before headed home from overseas
Saw fit to stop and get down on bended knees

He could not just pass by an abandoned boy
Lying father and motherless in the streets of hell
The boy missing an arm adopted as son
Given new life now repays with gratitude to the very one

The one who as he knelt to pick up a destitute boy
And shield him from impending harm
Took a bullet in his back
But never once to this day regretted stopping for this boy with missing arm

As I continue on with my afternoon
Oblivious to the ignorance wrapped in my preoccupation
Void of the rich intimate stories of strangers dotting the street
Lost opportunities to live through the people we meet


Free In Thought, 2016

Alt

Alt


Alt

This post is 100% POWER UP. Go Steemit!


All images are from Pixabay.com and are CC0 Public Domain

Sort:  

Very much enjoyed this, thank you. I have had such thoughts myself en passing of strangers never met of worlds never known...I think I an imagine them sometimes, but I know I an never imagine fully. :)

It's a tough world. I feel that on one hand we are the most interconnected (via internet) then ever in human history however on the other hand we are more impersonal and apathetic than ever. Thanks for commenting.

Very nice read, thank you! I wish I had your kind of talent.

Thank you for the kind words of support.

stunning! Love It!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40