Stick in the Mud (Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)


As more people wake up realizing that bullying is totally unacceptable at any level, there are still many (especially young people) that suffer its torments. Perhaps one such younger person will read this poem and be inspired to believe that they are just fine the way they already are. With love.


Stick in the Mud   


Don’t be a stick in the mud 

“A stick in the mud”, I’m no dud 

Pointing fingers and laughing at me 

Trying not to internalize the cruelty   


I never thought I was boring and plain 

What does it mean anyway 

I guess I am; she beautiful and he is popular 

They must know best; so I endure the pain   



I will try to make them see 

That I can be 

Full of life and adventure 

And imagination so unbridled   


Maybe then she’ll be my friend 

I only want to be accepted 

Maybe then he’ll pass me by 

I only want to be left alone   


My effort is doomed to fail  

And revealingly demonstrate 

They don’t care about my cares 

They revel in my dependency on acceptance   


In sorrow, an epiphany is presented to me 

I am not a stick in the mud 

It matters no longer what you see   


And as you sit contemplating perplexedly  

Your loss of victim to bully and torment 

Realization trickles down to show

That you are the one with the dependency


Free in Thought, 2016


If you like my work please be sure to UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW me and check out my other contributions at @freeinthought. Thanks for reading!  


Images used under creative commons (cc) license.

1st:  by  Stephen Horncastle (geograph.org.uk)

2nd: by sewebster (openclipart.org/detail/216882/bullying)

3rd: by Dog99x (openclipart.org/detail/245470/cartoon-strange-boy)

Sort:  

Interesting view. I read it over again and I can see where you're coming from. I'm not very good at rapping but maybe Snoop or Eminem will pick it up. Thanks for your comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42