Rusty Chains (Jewelry for the suffering)

in #poetry7 years ago

RUSTY CHAINS


These chains
Weigh upon my bones
Impress upon my will
Heavy as stones
The filthy rust
Leaving orange stains
That slowly rots my very brain
A permanent stress and strain
Leaving scars of worry and fear

I am afraid to face the underbelly of ugliness
The truth
That lurks and lingers
It hovers
As I try futilely to paint it over
In desperate hope to hide my shame
To no avail

The inevitable draws near
Eventually my hand will be forced
The dirty parts exposed
Will my head hang in shame
A failure
To live up to a token standard of society
Its civility
Oppressed relentlessly

Until that day
I struggle and strive in vain
To attain
The model of perfection
Set by nameless faces
Who do not care to know me
But happily prescribe
The source of my pain

Free In Thought


As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.






Images used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

All written material is copyrighted (c) by @freeinthought the year it was posted

You can also support my work by sending donations directly to:

Bitcoin BTC: 14Tx2bjNropLJwNR6pop7ezAxPm7Jq4AsF
Litecoin LTC: LKswC27VGdpGfNM2WqxpMeP1wFHt7eDa1J


Other places you can find me:
D2Bd.jpgDare2Bdifferent

DTube.jpgMy D-Tube Channel

Sort:  

I feel like you have this pressure on you that you release through poetry but not completely.

I often hear "society expectations" and an extreme amount of responsibility in your voice.

I'd love to see you clearly express the source of this struggle. Maybe with a name and a exact moment it will bring clarity. Like the speaker is talking about something but the reader doesn't know what, we only know the struggle and the emotion. Like loss, denial, anger, and bargaining but without knowing a love one died and the speaker is working through stages of grief.

I liked the image of the rusty chain connected to the speakers soul and the flakes infecting the brain like poison. I could really relate to that image. Well done.

And I'm sure whatever is plaguing you you'll overcome. You're dedicated to writing and sharing and seem resilient.

Wow. Thanks for the awesome comment. You are either super perceptive and smart or you already know me. I've often felt like I am not sharing enough specific details about the emotions I write about. I admit that I do approach a lot of my more emotional poems from an abstract and generalized perspective. I don't always describe the real world events and triggers that may have manifested the emotion or that served as my inspiration.

Upon reflecting on your comments, I've concluded it's mostly because I'm still just hesitant with sharing too much personal information literally with the whole world. It's a dumb excuse I know, but I think genuine.

Thank you so much again for your comments (and wisdom! Probably beyond your years). :)

Thank you for your kind praise. Remember that I'm a trained english literature scholar that has spent hours reading poetry and explicating it; I'm literally trained to see patterns, pick out emotional language, and fine meaning behind words. Any wisdom I have may be masquerading as trained insight.

I understand that hesitance about wanting to hold back. It is scary talking about yourself in a public forum. Worse when you know that people you know are reading your stuff! Or know you personally and see you most private musing and your darkest desires.

I found Hera Lindsay Bird's forward in her self titled poetry book inspiring. She says,

I wrote this book, and it is sentimental
because I don't have a right sized reaction to the world
To write a book is not a right sized reaction
to put all your bad thoughts on paper
and make someone else pay for them.

To me that meant It might not be a good idea, and even hurtful to spew all my darkest, deepest (and in my case depraved erotic whims) on paper and screen to share with others, but we do it because to create to produce something pleasing and meaningful screams at our insides until we go mad with desire to put pen to page and fingers to keyboard.

Pain and specifics are scary, but they also create inspiring poetry and prose. If you're brave enough to address specifics, your readers will connect and if you're honest it can be therapeutic for you as well as someone else.

Plus, you can always be specific with still being anonymous. Or write specifically about fake things to throw people off the scent. :)

Either way; keep it up. I highly doubt I know you in person despite all my writing and previous social fluttering I'm a recluse now typing in my cave while my guy rubs my feet watching Netflix.

Nice post, quick question how does one make the letters bigger size? I Like the way your post is displayed.

Use the hashtag # before your line. Use only 1 # and it will be the largest. Use more than one to reduce the size.

Eg. # Test will be:

Test

And ## Test will be:

Test

Cool thanks so much, and do you no how to do colours also?
Appreciate your help. Its very confusing its a shame it cant be like Microsoft word, id finish my posts a lot quicker.

No sorry. Not sure about colours.. I don't think it's possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.14
ETH 2392.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63