My Light I Shine (Original Poem & Photography)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

My Light I Shine


Pass on by

In sun filled sky 

When water can be seen for miles

No danger present

Safety's shore can be reassuringly spotted


In the poorly lit evening sky

When only a faint glimpse of moonlight 

Peaks through the black curtain of night  

And the stars seem faint behind the billowing clouds above

My light will protect and guide ye past


As the early morning fog fills the air and every nook and cranny

Its thick plumes of haze obscure the rocks protruding beyond

Adrenaline barrels through even the most sea chewed Skipper's blood

Sailing blind, fears of running ashore crescendo

Until the worst seems inevitable

Only then solace is granted


My light illuminates from the distance 

It is spotted and hearts are warmed

I say to ship with conviction

My light I shine

Pass on by 


Free In Thought, 2016


If you like my work please be sure to UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW me and check out my other contributions at @freeinthought.   Photos are all original works taken by me personally using a Canon S2 IS 6.0-72.0 mm. They were taken on the St.Lawrence River between New York state and the province of Ontario.   Thanks for reading! 

Sort:  

I really like your use of language here. For exampel the "guide ye past" or the use of imagery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46